About The Author

I just realized one of the things I haven’t really done recently is an About The Author. I haven’t done one for any of my books or pages or this blog. Therefore, I intend to remedy the oversight immediately!

My name is Ashlei Hawley. I mainly work with fantasy fiction and I love otherworldly and apocalyptic future-scape environments for my stories to take place in. I published two books when I was younger (almost a decade ago) and the entire process between now and then has taught me caution, concern for my work and has given me great insight on just how much effort it takes to become a successful writer in any sense of the word. 

I love movies and I am a voracious reader-I can kill a novel in a day given an uninterrupted couple of hours. Horror is my guilty pleasure and zombies movies would have to be my niche. I love all Romero films and am in the process of writing three zombie-type movies of my own. The theater is my favorite place for a date, but only if the movie is preceded and followed by animated conversation.

I have a young son named Nathaniel Kristopher who is the most challenging and awe-inspiring experience I’ve ever been lucky enough to have enter my life. He is amazing and difficult, loving and frustrating, and a blessing in every sense of the word.

I have been writing novels since the fifth grade and I never intend to stop. When I’m old and doddering, I will still undoubtedly have half-filled journals littering my home, a laptop on my kitchen table and a flash drive around my neck (unless of course they come out with some new and nifty way to store documents, which they undoubtedly will).

Writing is all I’ve ever wanted to do. It’s one of the biggest parts of who I am. I am a mother, a student, a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a grandchild, a friend and a partner but the truest aspect that I know of myself is that I am a writer. And I’m happy that I know that part of my intimately and absolutely. 🙂

Leave a Reply

